background image
-: 96 :-

First Pakistani expedition to Mt. Everest is launched led by Nazir Sabir. The nine
members include Col. Sher Khan, Capt. Mohammad Iqbal, Rajab Shah. Mehrban
Shah, Sarwar Khan, Ghulam Hussan, Mohammad Ibrahim, Rozi Ali and Capt. Dr.
Saifullah. The expedition despite Launching three brave summit attempts, remains
short of Everest summit by 300 metres. (organized by ACP).

First China ­ Pakistan expedition launched to Nanga Parbat led by Sam Druk, Aziz
Beg and Muhammadullah reach the summit along with six Tibetan Chinese
Climbers. (organized by ACP).
First Pakistani expedition launched to Spantik Peak (7200 m) led by Saad Tariq
Siddiqui. Muhammad Zubair Farooqi, Rehamtullah and Nisar Hussain reached the
summit. (organized by ACP).
Rajab Shah becomes the first Pakistani to ascend all five highest peaks above eight
thousand metres situated in Pakistan after climbing Gasherbrum ­ II, while in the
company of a Japanese expedition.
Nazir Sabir becomes first Pakistani to make ascent of the highest peak on earth ­Mt
Everest from South Col, Nepal as part of a joint American ­ Canadian ­ Pakistani
Meetings of the International Mountaineering and Climbing Federation UIAA (Union
Internationale Des Associations D'Alpinisme, UAAA (Union of the Asian Alpine
Associations) and the Himalayan Countries Mountaineering Forum are hosted, first
time ever, in Pakistan. These meetings held on the occasion of the Annual
Convention of ACP are attended by 69 foreign delegates from 23 countries.
(organized by ACP). An international conference on mountains was organized by
PTDC at Hunza with a number of foreign participants.
29 expedition parties attempted the five peaks with altitude of 8000 meters and
above K-2 received maximum number of expeditions followed by Broad Peak and
Year 2003 was declared as Golden Jubilee Year of Nanga Parbat. In this connection
PTDC produced a commemorative poster, which was distributed locally and abroad
in the international tourism fairs ie. ITB ­ Berlin, WTM ­ London and ATM ­ Dubai.

Source: Golden Jubilee Celebrations K-2 and 51
Anniversary Nanga Parbat 2004,
Produced by PTDC.